Kids of Character 2012

2012 Kids of Character Awards

Thanks to your participation, over 6,600 young people from 118 schools in Tulare County were recognized. Choose the link below to view a list of all of the students who were nominated.

Complete list of the 2012 Kids of Character

Provident-Salierno Family Foundation Honorees

Of the 6,853 students nominated, 80 were selected as honorees for the Provident-Salierno Family Foundation Celebration held on October 29, 2012. These exemplary students included:


Top Honorees:
Elizabeth Nuno, Visalia Community Based Instruction - COS

Maria Santiago, Los Tules Middle School
Kaeli Tripp, Garden Elementary School


Top Honorees:
Mission Oak High School Football Team, including:
Michael Aguayo, Adam Aguilera, Luis Arias, Manny Avita, Fabian Buenrostro, JR Duarte, Pablo Figuereo, Kaleb Fite, Andrew Flores, Jacob Fraga, Zack Gomez, Bryant Hernandez, Phillip Hernandez, Alex Huerta, Armon Hunter, Chris Jackson, LeAndre Jefferson, Branson Kelly, Nick Lewis, Erik Luna, David Martinez, Phillip McGulpin, Bryan Mendez, Dustin Oliver, Maurice Oliver, Alec Oppedyk, Kevin Palma, Jaylin Parish, Elijah Porchia, Cody Porter, Corbin Quinonez, Adam Ramirez, Trent Reed, Jonathan Roberts, Anthony Salazar, Matthew Sanchez, Eric Sierra, Josh Silva, Koby Tripp, Evan Van Beek, Eric Villalobos, Paris Villarrial, Clayton Walden, Darian Warford, Michael Webster, Cody Williams

Itzel Estevez, Tipton Elementary School
Alondra Morales, Wilson Elementary School (Dinuba)


Top Honorees:
Bertha Gonzales, Roosevelt Elementary School (Dinuba)

Inez Nava, La Sierra Military Academy
Cody Estermann, Elbow Creek Elementary School


Top Honorees:
Fabian Monje, Waukena Union School

Carlos Hernandez, Heritage Elementary School


Top Honorees:
Tulare Western High School classmates, including:
Leydi Nunez Calderon, Francisco Sarabia, Hector Perez, Roxana Herrera, Yosseline Pacheco, Jazmin Villalobos

Riley Shelton, Cottonwood Creek Elementary School
Joseph Perryman, Tulare Union High School
Brittney Mitchell, Golden West High School


Top Honorees:
Woodlake High School Cheer Squad, including:
Cassidy Thornburg, Deanna Diaz, Ashley Childress, Allyson Childress, Darlene Christie, Berenice Cendejas, Venicia Cardenas, Regina Ramirez, Jamerra Carmichael, Cyrena Lopez, Gabriela Medina

Mattelyn Giannandrea, Hurley Elementary School
Jacob Wilson, Kings River Union School
Binny Bhakta, Tulare Union High School
Sarah Crocker, Strathmore Middle School

For more information about the CHARACTER COUNTS! program, visit

or contact Kelley Petty, Program Coordinator, at or call (559) 740-4303.

CHARACTER COUNTS! is a nationwide initiative which embraces the six core values mentioned above. These values, common in a democratic society, can be taught by teachers, parents and community members to build and develop character in youth. The CHARACTER COUNTS! program is provided to the schools in the 45 districts administered by the Tulare County Office of Education.

CHARACTER COUNTS! is a service mark of the CHARACTER COUNTS! Coalition, a project of the Josephson Institute of Ethics.