Kids of Character 2015

Thank You

to everyone who took the time to nominate a deserving Tulare County student for the

2015 Kids of Character Awards.

Thanks to your participation, over 6,300 young people from 123 schools in Tulare County were recognized. Choose the link below to view a list of all of the students who were nominated.

Complete list of the 2015 Kids of Character

Provident-Salierno Family Foundation Honorees

Of the more than 6,300 students nominated, 90 were selected as honorees for the Provident-Salierno Family Foundation Celebration held on October 27. These exemplary students included:


Top Honorees:
Briseyda Dominguez, Dinuba High School
Joshua Say, West Putnam Elementary School

Gunnar Jacquez, Garden Elementary School
Latisha Harris, Heritage Elementary School
Angel Torres, Highland Elementary School
Rene Borja, John F. Kennedy Elementary School
Trustworthiness honorees

Top Honorees:
Juan Ortega, Kings River Union Elementary School
Greg Anaya-Gasco, Porterville High School

Johnathon Porter, Alice G. Mulcahy Middle School
Emma Alexander, Alta Vista Elementary School
Felipe Contreras, COS Community Based Instruction
Penelope Polanco, Lincoln Elementary School
Respect honorees

Top Honorees:
Brandon Ostoich, La Sierra Military Academy
Gilberto Hernandez, Mission Oak High School

Joab Acevedo, Highland Elementary School
Lisette Mendoza, Kings River Union Elementary School
Isabella Gonzalez, Pleasant View Elementary School
Nicole Nunez, Tipton Elementary School
Responsibility honorees

Top Honorees:
Taryn Geivet, Mt. Whitney High School
Edgar Rodriguez, Waukena Elementary School

Travis Tynes, Hope Elementary School
Xavier Renteria, Palo Verda Union School
Miranda Alvarado, Rocky Hill Elementary School
Belinda Pena, Stone Corral Elementary School
Fairness honorees

Top Honorees:
Tanner Ragan, Valley Life Charter Schools
Emily Rising, Tulare Union High School

Rebecca Koogler, Cypress Elementary School
Madelyn Cooper, Hurley Elementary School
Melina Renteria, Monson-Sultana Elementary School
Leslie Llerenas, Tulare Tech Prep High School
Caring honorees

Top Honorees:
Natalie Grisword, Mt. Whitney High School
Tulare Western High School ASB Leadership Team

Marthana Silva, Butterfield Charter High School
Sebastian Balderas, Castle Rock Elementary School
Alissa Gomez, Dinuba High School
Leslie Ontiveros, Granite Hills High School
Citizenship honorees
Tulare Western High School ASB Leadership Team:
Elijah Alonzo, Jocelyn Benson, Kamryn Berry, Shania Burrell, Myrikal Caerno, Andrea Campos, Kelcey Carrasco, Victoria Carrillo, Jonah Castro, Illeane Cruz, Hector Delgado, Mark Diaz, Gabby Flores, Andrea Galston, Wyatt Gilbert, Brendon Gonzalez, Nick Griesbach, Jenny Jimenez, Jacob Koorey, Mallory Korenwinder, Jacqui Koster, Jimmy Koster, Nick Lambert, Bailey Leal, Sean Levy, Joe Lew, Jesse Macias, Raul Mancilla, Jaiden Martin, Shelly Martinez, Annabelle Martinho, John Maxey, Khloe McCarthy, Kasey McDaniel, Case McPhetridge, Thomas Morgan, Megan Muller, Kennedy Oliver, Erin Parmer, Elijah Perez, Ivy Porter, Noah Portillo, Devin Rosa, Michael Salazar, Daniel Sanchez, Annastasia Sausedo, Castro Serrano, Savannah Silva, Joshua Stuber, Stephanie Urena, Nikki Vasquez, Matt Verissimo, Sarah Wilber, Griffin Yentes, Guadalupa Zepeda

For more information about the CHARACTER COUNTS! program, visit

or contact Kelley Petty, Program Coordinator, at or call (559) 740-4303.

CHARACTER COUNTS! is a nationwide initiative which embraces the six core values mentioned above. These values, common in a democratic society, can be taught by teachers, parents and community members to build and develop character in youth. The CHARACTER COUNTS! program is provided to the schools in the 43 districts administered by the Tulare County Office of Education.

CHARACTER COUNTS! is a service mark of the CHARACTER COUNTS! Coalition, a project of the Josephson Institute of Ethics.