## TULARE COUNTY COMMITTEE ON SCHOOL DISTRICT ORGANIZATION MINUTES

The Tulare County Committee on School District Organization met and held its annual organizational meeting on November 14, 2019 at 8:00 p.m. at the Tulare County Office of Education, 6200 S. Mooney Blvd., Visalia, California.

The County Committee meeting was called to order by Chairman, Joe Hallmeyer at 8:38 p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT	Robert Aguilar, John Beck, Joe Hallmeyer, Mickey Hirni, Melissa Janes, Bob Line, Bob Pugh and Helen Renteria
MEMBERS ABSENT	Mary Helen Espino Rick Chappell – he declined to seek another term
COUNTY STAFF	Tim A. Hire, Tulare County Superintendent of Schools Fernie Marroquin, Ed.D., Assistant Superintendent of Business Services Shelly DiCenzo, Administrative Legal Assistant Desiree Serrano, Attorney-Lozano Smith
OTHER GUESTS	Debby Holguin, Board Member for Trustee Area 2 – Tulare County Board of Education Kristy Mitchell, Board Member – Alpaugh Unified School District
DISABILITY-RELATED MODIFICATIONS OR ACCOMMODATION	ADA accommodations have been met.
PUBLIC COMMENTS	Members of the public did not address the Committee on any agenda item, or other item of interest within the subject matter jurisdiction of the committee during the public comment period.
RATIFICATION OF ELECTION RESULTS FOR COUNTY COMMITTEE MEMBERS	Joe Hallmeyer reported that 38 out of 44 school district representatives returned ballots to re-elect Melissa Janes for District 2 and Robert Aguilar for District 3. Also, Vahnn Blue was introduced as the new committee member for District 1, elected by the school district representatives. Following the vote, Mr. Blue took his seat as a member of the County Committee. John Beck made a motion to ratify the election results, which was seconded by Mickey Hirni. The motion was carried unanimously. Vote: Aye – Aguilar, Beck, Hallmeyer, Hirni, Janes, Line, Pugh, and Renteria; No – None; Absent – Espino

APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEE MEMBER – VACANCY IN DISTRICT 5	Carl Carson resigned as one of the County Committee Members representing District 5. At this time, we do not have a replacement to appoint. This item has been tabled.
SELECTION OF CHAIRPERSON	Mickey Hirni made a motion to keep Joe Hallmeyer as chairperson for 2020, which was seconded by Melissa Janes. The motion carried unanimously. Vote: Aye – Aguilar, Beck, Blue, Hallmeyer, Hirni, Janes, Line, Pugh, and Renteria; No – None; Absent – Espino
SELECTION OF VICE CHAIRPERSON	For vice chairperson, a motion was made by John Beck to nominate Melissa Janes. Mickey Hirni seconded the motion. The committee voted unanimously to reelect Melissa Janes as vice chairperson. Vote: Aye – Aguilar, Beck, Blue, Hallmeyer, Hirni, Janes, Line, Pugh, and Renteria; No – None; Absent – Espino
MINUTES	A motion was made by Melissa Janes, seconded by Helen Renteria and carried unanimously to approve the minutes of November 14, 2018 as written. Vote: Aye – Aguilar, Beck, Blue, Hallmeyer, Hirni, Janes, Line, Pugh, and Renteria; No – None; Absent – Espino
ADJOURN	As there was no further business, Chairman Hallmeyer adjourned the meeting at 8:43 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Tim A. Hire, Ex-Officio Secretary County Committee on School District Organization